Cwatts22 New member

For New Members. Tell us about yourself.
Cwatts22

Cwatts22 New member

Post by Cwatts22 »

Hi everyone! Glad to find this forum. I just purchase a 6' Fairbury #7 from a gentlemen in Kansas. The mill was still standing. I was able to lower it and bring it home with no problems. The mill seems to be fairly good condition for something nearly 100 years old. The fan and tail had little to no damage. The motor seems a little on the loose side. I'm new to windmills but i'm going to recondition this mill and set it over a well. I'm sure i'm going to need new pinion gears(small gears) and would appreciate anyone who might have a set or know where to look for a set. I've always been fascinated by windmills and always wanted to own one so here we go. Any advice or help would be appreciated.
windybob

Re: Cwatts22 New member

Post by windybob »

Welcome to the site. Hope you get the help you need! It's amazing that your Fairbury is only "a little loose". I would think it would be well worn. However, good for you. Those slant-cut gears are the killer to aquire, however there are jillions of Fairburys around. If someone has one that can be dismantled , and not worn out, or rusted solid, you may get lucky. D. Beetly up in Nebraska had tons of those, but sold them all to .......I forget now. Hopefully someone can fill your request.
Call Dan Benjamin for parts. P M me for the phone number.
PaulV
Site Admin

Post by PaulV »

Welcome Calvin! Lots of folks here to help.

Post pics of your mill when you have time.

Where are you located on Oklahoma? We're just outside of Tulsa in Collinsville.
PaulV
Cwatts22

Post by Cwatts22 »