Windmill Oil. What do you use?

......when you need to get in the weeds.
Joshschneids

Windmill Oil. What do you use?

Post by Joshschneids »

Hey everyone, been a while since i have been on here. Being a Marine Mechanic, i am busy at this time of the year now that our ice has pretty much all gone in Northern Ontario. Trying to get this mill up rather than working on motor’s for a while. Lol Anyways i am sure there is a lot of different opinions on this and wanted opinions from everyone that is experienced with this stuff unlike me :lol: Anyways i am pretty sure 10W non detergent is what i want to run? If not what does everyone recommend? Especially if the guys in Canada could chime in where they get their oil?. Thanks guys! I am sure this can be a cool thread seeing what everyone runs. Josh
Josh From Ontario
windybob

Re: Windmill Oil. What do you use?

Post by windybob »

That's what the manufacturers say to use. I've had my run-ins with it though. Had to warranty several rebuilt heads, due to oil gumming up and starving the bearings. being as several friends i know use regular red ATF and having good luck i switched over to it. Never had a problem since.
Call Dan Benjamin for parts. P M me for the phone number.
PaulV
Site Admin

Post by PaulV »

We use 10w non-detergent now, but changing to 10w hydraulic fluid when we use up the case of non-detergent. We haven't had any issues with the non-detergent though.
20190427_190851.jpg
20190427_190918.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
PaulV
Joshschneids

Post by Joshschneids »

PaulV wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:15 pm We use 10w non-detergent now, but changing to 10w hydraulic fluid when we use up the case of non-detergent. We haven't had any issues with the non-detergent though.
20190427_190851.jpg
20190427_190918.jpg

Thanks Paul! I ended up picking up some Non Detergent for it. Was cheap and a nice clear fluid to pour into my clean gearcase. Josh
Josh From Ontario