Questions about a Stover/Samson tower

......when you need to get in the weeds.
Jim Corcoran

Questions about a Stover/Samson tower

Post by Jim Corcoran »

I'm a rookie at this and need some help with a Stover/Samson three corner tower I recently picked up.

1. There are three bolts in the corners of the head plate that attach it to the three legs of the tower. What is the purpose of the other three bolts on the sides? Each of these three bolts have wedge shaped heads which fit flush inside the head plate. They do not appear to connect to anything.
headplate_1.jpg
2. The angle iron supports for the inspection platform only stick out 2.25 inches at each corner. How was this enough support for the platform? I can’t visualize how a platform was constructed and attached.
platform_1.jpg
Any advice, suggestions, or images would be greatly appreciated.

Jim
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
" You need to get at least 30 miles out of Austin before you're firmly back in Texas."
windybob

Re: Questions about a Stover/Samson tower

Post by windybob »

Jim the wedge bolts are just that. there are cutouts in the edges of the legs smaller than the head of the bolts, and drawing the bolts up tight spreads the legs into the corners. I guess the bolts in the corners are secondary fasteners. I just built a stub tower for a Stover. ( 4 legged)

The platform arrangement is out of my knowledge base. That's why I don't like 3 legged towers. lol
Call Dan Benjamin for parts. P M me for the phone number.
Jim Corcoran

Post by Jim Corcoran »

Bob,
I now understand the purpose of the wedge bolts thanks to your explanation. It appears the wedges on the bolt heads have been so badly worn (or the recess into which they fit in the head plate or both), that they don't make much if any contact with the tower legs. They actually fit flush within the head plate casting and inside of (not on top of) the notches in the legs.