Aeromotor Windmill Restoration... Where to start?

Generally speaking, this area is for general discussion about windmills, in most cases.
Runway

Aeromotor Windmill Restoration... Where to start?

Post by Runway »

Hi all! I am new to the world of windmill, but mechanically inclined and have done restorations of other projects in the past. A friend of mine recently purchased a property that had a pond and a water pumping windmill next to it. The windmill was non operational but he wants to get it back up and working/pumping. He figured the first step would be to get the windmill head down and get a look at what needs repaired. Unfortunately the person that got it down for him, cut it at the base due to some rusty bolts he couldnt break loose... That is when it got passed on to me to look into. It is an early Aeromotor 8ft model. From what I see on the spokes, it looks like a 602 model, but I see A612 casted on the side. Unfortunately I don't see anything about that model anywhere. This project is in it's infancy at this point, but I am trying to figure out if it is worth restoring, where to start, etc. Financially there isn't a concern, but I see you can buy these refurbished as well. Hoping this site can help me along the way through this! Thanks in advance!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Windcatcher530 Dan

Re: Aeromotor Windmill Restoration... Where to start?

Post by Windcatcher530 Dan »

Trevor your mill is kinda a rare mill. The 612 was made for just a short while and there isn't much info on them either. Im guessing the mast pipe that was cut is the same as a 602 other parts not sure. Hopefully someone on this forum can help. Welcome to the club.
mtblah

Post by mtblah »